Fighting Eel: Resort Collection 2011

Hurray for Hawaii designers!  I love ’em because I feel their pieces embody the true Hawaii lifestyle–simple yet sexy at the same time.  One of my favorites is a local brand called Fighting Eel.  What makes them awesome is the fact that you can easily wear their dresses and tops around town AND dress them up for night.  Multitasking!

These pieces are from their Resort 2011 collection (I know, I know.  It’s 2012 now but I love them so much I feel like I have to feature them!).  Everything is so flowy, I love it!  Here are my top 3 faves that I wish would magically appear in my closet right now:

1.  The Parker Tube dress in Fish Print.  $152.  (The really cute Obi Belt is $68.)  Also available in a periwinkle tie-die.  I could easily see myself walking around Ala Moana OR on a dinner date at Alan Wong’s.

Parker Tube

2.  Eden Dress in Grey Tie Die ($166).  Normally I won’t do Tie Die but the pattern is interesting without being too much.  I really love the empire waist.

Eden Dress

3.  Summer Top in Tan/Grey Tie Die ($92).  This top also comes in an orange/pink combo that I’m not brave enough to wear (and also the fish print, which I love!).  I think the more muted colors of this combo suit my wardrobe more.  It kind of reminds me of something I’d find in a Brandy Melville store (except it was locally designed!  Even better!).

Summer Top

For those of us on the isle of Oahu, Fighting Eel has two boutiques: Their flagship store on Bethel Street (downtown.  Drop by on First Fridays!) and their other store in Kailua.  For everyone else, the Fighting Eel website has an online store and a list of where to buy.  I can’t wait for what their next collection has in store!

Leave a Reply

