Stitch Fix

I think I’m one of those people that have a fixed wardrobe: the poor thing barely gets updated.  I wear the same things all the time–(kind of) boring.  *sigh*  I think my problem is that I just don’t know what to buy.  If it were up to me, I’d always pick up a pair of skinny jeans.  And maybe a white or gray top.  AHH I need some variety in  my closet.  I wish I could borrow a personal shopper for the day.

That’s why Stitch Fix is so handy:  It’s like having a mail-order Personal Shopper service.  I think I read somewhere that the brains behind Stitch Fix are a pair of fashionable ladies from the Bay Area, so you know they’ve got mad style.

So basically how it works is that you sign up at their website (they are in a beta right now) and fill out your fashion profile.  To get your first fix, you have to pay a one-time $20 styling fee but no worries because it can go toward anything you purchase from your first fix.  It’s basically like an upkeep or maintenance fee. 

Here is some basic info from their FAQ:

  • The average price of the item they send you is $65 but they can tailor your fix to include pricier items if you wish
  • Free shipping, hurray!
  • Unwanted items can be returned but must be postmarked by the first Monday after your receipt.  This way, you’re always guaranteed a weekend to try on your new clothes
  • Exchanges for sizes can be tricky because they aren’t guaranteed to have your size in stock.  They will try their best.

I’ve googled some other blogs to see what their Fixes looked like and they all seem really pleased!   My only reservation are that I feel like I have weird sizing (I’m Asian, 5’2″ and a lot of things fit kind of funny on me) and that they’ll send me something really not my style.  You can indicate your height/usual size on your profile and I’m pretty sure the Stitch Fix ladies can accomodate that…and I guess trying new things is part of the fun of the service, right?

So, I’m debating…if any of you have a referral link, send it to me!  If I do decide to try this tempting service, I’ll be sure to use it.

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix

  1. Hi MikaSeven,

    I’ve gotten three packages from Stitchfix and I love it. Each time I keep at least 3 out of the 5 items. I think it’s so much fun to get a package in the mail and you have no idea what’s in it. Here’s my referral link if you decide to give it a try.

    http://l.aunch.it/Ss0a

    I hope you post about it if you do try. I love seeing what other people et.

Leave a Reply

