DIY: Any Bag Camera Insert

Hurray, I just bought my micro 4/3 camera!  Now I have something to shoot with in Japan that is small/lightweight but can take some pretty nice pictures.  I’ve been all smiles for a while, can’t wait until it comes in!

So now, the dilemma: How to find cute yet functional camera bags/pouches/inserts for the Girl with the Small[er then a traditional DSLR] camera.

I originally wanted something like this (Crumpler Haven (S) – $46) but then my empty wallet began to cry after I bought the filter, memory card, etc. So I said, “Fine.  I’m pretty…crafty, I bet I can make my own!”

Crumpler Haven (S)

And thank goodness for the internet and the talented ladies and gents out there who post wonderful DIY tutorials.  I estimate that I can make an awesome, custom-fit camera bag for somewhere around 10-15 bucks (based on what I’ve got in the house already).  Score!

Here are some of the links I found; the instructions are very clear so I have faith that I can follow them pretty accurately.  We’ll see how it goes (I don’t have a sewing machine so I’m considering sewing everything by hand or perhaps I’ll glue things?).  I have my fingers crossed that I don’t poke myself too much.

DIY Camera Bag Insert – Little Blue Boo (She’s got a detailed PDF with instructions.  So helpful!)


DIY Camera Bag – The Frugal Girls

DIY Camera [Purse] Bag – Live Laugh Eat

P.S. For you guys out there (or for ladies making these for your man), these designs can easily be made more manly with the use of plain fabric, nylon, or perhaps some camo?  They work wonderfully in re-purposed messenger bags.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Any Bag Camera Insert

  1. Oh wow, this is great! I think I’ll make one for my camera too. I’ll be staying in the US for almost four months this year and I simply can’t afford to take a huge camera-bag with me. And putting my precious Canon into my bag without any protection and such is an absolute NO-GO! for me. But this is the perfect solution for my problem! Thank you so much for posting!

Leave a Reply

