Earrings For Sensitive Ears

I bought myself a pair of diamond earrings last week!  I loved them and I even got them on sale.  I have rather small ears and this was the first time I’ve actually been proud of the fact–small diamonds look great on small ears!  Haha.

You can’t imagine how bummed I was to return those beautiful diamond studs a week later.  Turns out some 14K white gold contains nickel…to which I am pretty allergic.  SADNESS!

I know there are a lot of ladies (it affects females more then males, mostly because we wear jewelry more often, which means we can develop nickel allergies more often) who are in the same boat.  Here are some pretty nickel-free alternatives!

1. Rhodium.  According to PrettyPetalsJewelry’s listing, rhodium is the world’s most expensive precious metal?  I like these earrings–they are simple yet very eye-catching.

PrettyPetalJewelry - Colorado Topaz Rhodium Plated Earrings ($28)

2. Stainless Steel.  When I think of stainless steel, I think of countertops.  Countertops might not be the most glamorous thing in the world, but nervoussystem’s leaf earrings sure do the trick.  (On a side note, I actually have a ring made out of steel!  I used to wear it every day–they give it to you when you graduate from college with a Civil Engineering degree.  I’ve never had a problem with it. It’s relatively shiny but shows lots of scuffs.  Just like a countertop.  *sigh*)

nervoussystem's Reticulate Stainless Steel Leaf Earrings ($40)

3.  Platinum.  The real deal. Ahhh, I think these are gorgeous but I’m saving money for a downpayment.  But a girl can dream, right?

Pompeii3's 0.50 CT Diamond Earrings in Platinum ($599)

P.S. These aren’t your only options!  They make much cheaper nickel-free jewelry–the ladies online say Target and Walmart sell them.  There is also…palladium?   I’m not too sure on that one though.

8 thoughts on “Earrings For Sensitive Ears

  1. I know how you feel. I too have to be careful with what kind of earrings I wear in my ears. I once brought some earrings from JcPennys and they were fine for awhile but then they started bothering my ears. Had to stop wearing them. Have you ever heard of Lia Sophia? I have a pair of earrings from them and when I wear them my ears are fine.

      • Not a problem. It definitely is. I learned about niobium from a wholesaler when I first got into chainmaille jewelry. I have the same sensitivity, so I’m always researching options.

  2. Athena Allergy offers Nickel Solution that contains Nickel Guard, a lacquer you can paint onto your new diamond earrings and continue to wear them without worries about a nickel allergy rash. It also contains Nickel Alert so you can test any jewelry for the presence of nickel. Check out the website for very cute earrings handmade by an artist with nickel allergy.

Leave a Reply

