Allison Izu Jeans – for short girls!

“Vertically Challenged, Fashionably Advantaged.” 

Ahahahaha, I laughed.  I think 90% of all the women I know are under 5 feet, 6 inches.  In fact, I think I can comfortably say that 75% of all the women I know are under 5 feet 3 inches.  I actually feel relatively tall among my friends.

Allison Izu, a local girl, understands all of our pain.  She understands that most Asian women, because we are naturally shorter, have worn jeans that just don’t fit right.  So ta-dah!  She created a line of denim, just for us.

But perharps not for alllll of us.  At $138 a pair, these Waikiki Petite Skinny Jeans aren’t the most affordable pair out there (in fact, it seems a heck of a lot cheaper to buy regular jeans and have them hemmed), but I think her idea is really smart and sweet!  And I guess if you’re buying premium denim, anyway, at least you know it was designed with someone of your stature in mind. 

Allison Izu's Waikiki Petite Skinny Jean ($138)

Her ideas have been featured by Oprah’s magazine and Nordstrom Ala Moana currently carries a few of her styles (not all, I think it’s limited to two different ones).

P.S. Here’s a really interesting interview that Allison did with MauiShopGirl.  Allison was born and raised in Oahu and it talks about her inspiration for creating her denim line.

One thought on “Allison Izu Jeans – for short girls!

Leave a Reply

