Japanese Skincare Review: Biore Sunscreen Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50

If I had to pick only ONE thing to bring home from Japan…it would be sunscreen.  Yes, you read that right–Sunscreen!  Seriously, Japanese sunscreen makes me WAY happier then green tea kit kat does.  Heck, I’d rather have Japanese sunscreen over another Shu Uemura lash curler.  THAT’s how much I love this stuff.

My absolute, number one FAVORITE Japanese sunscreen is Biore Japan’s Watery Essence.  Kind of a mouthful, huh.

    But here’s the lowdown:

  • SPF 50
  • PA+++
  • Water Based
  • Comes in a 50ml tube
  • Retails for 880 yen (on average.  I think Tokyu Hands sells it for this much.  Keep an eye out!  I snagged my last batch for 670 yen at drugstore)

The reason why I love this sunscreen so much is that…it doesn’t smell like sunscreen.  Definitely not like the ones in the American market.  Aqua Rich smells kind of citrusy; it’s a fresh, pleasant scent.

The other reason why I’m a fan is that it applies WONDERFULLY.  Yay for water based products!  This product is super duper light.  For everyday wear, it’s perfect.  I can’t stand heavy products on my face–After Aqua Rich dries, I can barely tell its there.

If you’re one of those girls that need a daily use sunscreen that you can barely feel, I definitely recommend this product to you.  Hands down.  I absolutely LOVE this sunscreen and I know I’m not alone–my esthetician is Japanese and she was delighted that I use this product!  I want to say it was the #1 Cosme pick a couple years ago?  (Cosme is like…Japanese beauty awards).

If you’re interested, I found it on eBay for about $12.50, not including shipping.

(As a random note, I think the latest Cosme sunscreen pick is another wonderfully light product that is applied like regular spray-on sunscreen.  It was a lot more expensive then this Biore one and I wasn’t sure if I could bring it back on the plane or not. Darn!  It sure seemed like a really cool product to try.)

One thought on “Japanese Skincare Review: Biore Sunscreen Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50

  1. Pingback: Sephora Sun Safety Kit | mikaseven

Leave a Reply

