Koko Head: The view from the top

Sunset from the top! (Yelp)

I love Koko Head. Sure, it may be an evil incarnation of the Stairmaster machine on steroids, but the view sure is beautiful from the top.

If any of you are on Oahu and want to combine sight seeing with an awesome cardio workout, I totally recommend hiking the Koko Head stairs!

The Challenge (Yelp)

So here are the Mikaseven tips for Koko Head success!

  • Avoid hiking in the middle of the day.  Go early or go in the late afternoon.  I promise you’ll have a beautiful view either way and if you go during these times, you’ll avoid the hot burning sun AND big crowds of people.
  • Don’t be afraid of the bridge in the middle. It’s not really a bridge, more like…thick wooden beams in a row, but it’s not too bad.  Trust your legs.
  • Bring water, especially if its your first time.  It’s a relatively short hike but is INTENSE!  There are no fountains at the top so it’s better to have it, if you need it.
  • You don’t need hiking shoes but I’d recommend something with a little more traction then plain ‘ol running shoes.  Trail runners are my favorite because they are light and you won’t slip on the dirt.  I see a lot of hikers with Vibrams now (I love my Five-Fingers!) but please please please don’t try this hike in rubber slippers.
  • Once you get to the top of the stairs, keep going!  There are a bunch of other viewing areas around the corner.  You can see into Waimanalo from the other side.
  • PUSH YOURSELF but know your limits!  I can make it to the top in 20 minutes but I know when I’ve got to take a break.  No worries, we’re all in it together. :]

I promise, this one is worth it.  I honestly feel like I’m on top of the world when I push myself over that last step.

Leave a Reply

