Preview! February 2014 Darby Smart To DIY For Box: Alcohol Inks

AHHHH I just received my first Darby Smart box in the mail and I can’t WAIT to try it!  I haven’t actually started my project yet, but I’m so excited that I just HAVE to share it ASAP.

Oops, getting ahead of myself again…. Okay.  First off, Darby Smart’s To DIY For box is a monthly subscription  that sends you all the things you need for one super neat/chic/awesome project.  It runs for $19 a month but the shipping is free!

They usually have a teaser pic of materials that will be used in the next box, this was the “reveal” for February.

alcohol-ink

Isn’t that beautiful?  To me, it looks like an abstract stained glass piece that was inspired by peacock feathers…I guess.  *does an artsy appreciation head tilt*  I love the variety of colors and the way to sorta run together.  So, that’s made with Alcohol Ink!  This month’s DIY is to make Ink Blot Coasters.  I have never heard of or worked with said ink, so this month is going to be an adventure.

To DIY For Boxes are a cute blue color and have “Internet Rehab Inside” printed on the top.  I’m so curious to know what my mailman thinks I’m receiving, haha.  (I bet he thinks its shoes)

IMG_3616IMG_3615

And when you open it up, you’re immediately greeted with instructions!  And a whole box of materials.   This box included:

  • 3 alcohol inks and 1 alcohol blending solution
    • Wild Plum (Magenta)
    • Butterscotch (Goldenrod)
    • Stream (Teal)
  • 1 Foam Brush
  • 1 bottle of Mod Podge Glossy Sealer
  • 4 ceramic tile coasters
  • A sheet of Cork Stickies

IMG_3617 IMG_3618 IMG_3619 IMG_3620

I can’t wait to start this project!  I’ve got to hold off at the moment because I have a bajillion more wedding DIY projects to do, but I’m pretty excited to have these coasters ready to go!

I plan on letting the inks drip, so it’s more like their teaser picture, but I love what you get when you do it the Instructions way also.  I also plan on being generous with the blender solution—-the more you put, the more the inks will spread.

What do you guys think?  I rather like that they send you ALL the supplies that you need for a project—my problem with DIY projects that I see online is that I’m sometimes discouraged when I find out that I need an expensive tool (that I’ll probably only use once) to do it.  And that’s on top of all the materials you need to buy!  Blah.  The other thing that I like is that Darby Smart is really good at sending up follow-up DIY ideas for things that you CAN make on your own.  Still have some alcohol ink left over?  Here’s something cool you can do with it!  Or a whole email dedicated to the wonders of Mod Podge.

If you want in on the DIY action, here’s a link to try Darby Smart.   And if you use the code, howdydarby, you can get $10 off!  That makes your first box only $9.  Awesome~ Please share some pics of your next Darby Box!

One thought on “Preview! February 2014 Darby Smart To DIY For Box: Alcohol Inks

  1. Pingback: Influenster Vox Box Review: Colgate Optic White Round 2 | mikaseven

Leave a Reply

