Influenster Yves Saint Laurent Voxbox: Mascara Review

Alrighties, you know the drill.  These products were provided free of charge for testing purposes.  Okay?  Let’s begin! 😀
wpid-img_20150324_195514.jpg
Earlier this month, I won the VoxBox Lottery and scored the YSL Box.  YSL as in Yves Saint Lauren.  *squee!*  They sent me a tube of their Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cilis, which in plain speak means, a “luxurious mascara for a false lash effect.”
Gosh, YSL has the most glamorous packaging ever.  This mascara comes in a shiny gold foil box and in a shinier gold tube with the YSL logo on the cap.  I absolutely love the design, I feel special just twisting the tube open.  And as you can see, the brush is a bit thicker and fluffier than your typical mascara applicator.
wpid-photogrid_1427997037604.jpg
The formula is neither thick nor thin, it’s a happy medium and I mean this in the most positive way possible.  In the pictures below, I applied two coats and it layers beautifully–no clumping whatsoever.  Upon first swipe, I was a bit disappointed because there wasn’t an instant ‘wow’ like how I get with Urban Decay’s Perversion Mascara (my current #1 in rotation from Sephora’s Lash Stash)…but don’t worry keep going!  As I kept swiping the brush up my lashes, the volume started to appear, and then the length, all while keeping the curl and maintaining the definition.  More coats seem to add volume instead of clumpiness, I was definitely pleased when I stopped applying.
Also, I think it’s important to add that I didn’t experience any weird fumes or eye irritations while applying or wearing this product.  And the best part–EASY removal.  No tugging or scrubbing…gosh.  No irritation? I might be a loyalist for life.
What do you guys think? Here are a few before and after shots.  I figure for everyday going to work, most of us will just swipe on one/two coats.  I haven’t tried it yet but I’m pretty confident that this mascara will build up beautifully if B and I were to go out for drinks afterwards.  (…and that’s probably the intention of this product…haha oops).
Before on the left, After on the right

Before on the left, After on the right

Perhaps the true test:  on my first day of wearing it, a coworker asked me where I got my extensions done.  And then another one asked if these were the falsies that I brought home from Japan.  SUCCESS!  In all honesty, I feel like these definitely won’t replace the length and volume of real falsies but they definitely 100% do give a false lash effect.   Actually, I think they pass for natural, short extensions–I’m used to wearing super long extensions and falsies are the only way to get that length and volume.  But for everyday and days when I don’t want to mess with glue?  This product is perfect.
Top: (my) right eye [your left] has mascara and my left one is bare Bottom: Both eyes have mascara

Top: (my) right eye [your left] has mascara and my left one is bare
Bottom: Both eyes have mascara

What do you think?  I LOVE LOVE LOVE this formula–this is one of my favorites and I can definitely see myself wearing this product every day.  Maybe when I get out of the ‘experiment with makeup’ phase, I’ll settle down and use this mascara exclusively…but until then, (will I ever grow out of it? haha) I’ll be absolutely stoked if it or another YSL tube appears in Sephora’s Lash Stash again.
Leave a Reply

