May 2015 – Golden Tote (1 of 2)

I don’t think I ever reviewed my past Golden Totes.  Hmm, I wonder why?  Oh well, better late than never—Golden Tote is this awesome (I know I use that word frequently but seriously, this service is really *that* good) service in which they release a new collection every month.  You pick one or two items (depending on the size tote you get) and they surprise you with the rest!

There are two options:

  • $49 Tote – You have 1 selection and they send you 1-2 surprise items
  • $149 Tote – You have 2 selections and they send you 3-4 surprise items

I always go with the $149 tote because I think the value is significantly better, AND they do free shipping.  If you’re stuck between 3 items that you really like, no worries!  Golden Tote will offer you the 3rd piece at a discounted rate (usually around $35, which is cheaper than the regular boutique price of maybe $50-$70).

I won’t lie–I returned my last two Golden Totes.  Nothing really felt right and I wasn’t too impressed with the main and surprise items…  Oh well.  It was really easy to return (full refund).  I changed up my style profile and my next tote was right on the money!

Here’s the first batch of what I got in my May tote–I’m taking pics as I wear them. 😀 😀 😀

wpid-2015-05-31-14.07.55.jpg.jpeg

SELECTION ITEM: Fringed Festival Top (Beige, Small).  Blu Pepper, 100% Rayon, Dry Clean Only.

I LOVE THIS TOP!!!  I love the way it fits, it’s nice and flowy which is perfect for summer. My favorite part is the tassel-fringe on the bottom.  The panel is bit sheer but nothing that a nude bra can’t help with.  The only thing I didn’t really like are the care instructions–dry clean only is a drag but I’ll most likely end up hand washing this instead.

wpid-2015-05-31-14.09.27.jpg.jpeg

SURPRISE ITEM: Embroidered White Tank (White, Small).  Skies are Blue, 100% Cotton, Hand Wash).

I’m not sure if you can tell in the picture but the pretty stitching is this gorgeous indigo color.  There’s also a little keyhole detail in the back, and the main body panel fabric is a bit sheer but it’s got really pretty embroidered stripe details.  I was tempted to wear a statement necklace with the high neck but I think it would have been a bit too much.

wpid-2015-05-31-14.10.21.jpg.jpegSURPRISE ITEM: Mixed Print Top with Lace Trim (Blue, Small).  Potter’s Pot, Polyester Cotton, Dry Clean Only.

This is the one item in my tote that I wasn’t too excited about at first but it definitely grew on me–now it’s one of my favorites!  I was also a bit afraid that the area where the lace meets the main body would fall weird but it fits perfectly–I wear this with jeans or dark pants and I’m good to go.


What do you guys think?  Halfway there–will post the other four items (YES I got 6 total!  And I bought an extra add-on piece for a total of 7 garments for $185) later this week.  The only thing I’m not loving is that everything has to be dry cleaned (aka hand wash) but so far, I’m feeling that it’s definitely worth it.  :]

If you’d like to try Golden Tote, the June Tote launches on June 8th, 9AM PDT (the May tote is still available!)

Leave a Reply

