The Happenings: December 2015

How are you all doing?  This year has been non-stop runaway crazy busy for me and I’m ready for a vacation!  Haha, who am I kidding, it’s only February.  *sigh* I still have to catch up with all the stuff from December–I’m falling behind, as you can clearly see.

I can’t lie and say it hasn’t all been fun.  Let’s focus on the fun stuff!  First off, I went to Korea for the first time.  It was also the first time I experienced being ‘chilled to the bone.’  The funny but actually kind of sad story is that another team went out before us (to the same place) and they emailed back and said, ‘Hey!  The weather is perfect!  You don’t need your thermals, just light layering pieces will do.”  So that’s what we packed!  The first day it was exactly as described, the second day was pretty chilly…and on the third day, it snowed.  The fourth day, I had to buy a fur-lined hooded snowboarding jacket, and the fifth day, I…was done so we went home.  Being cold in Korea has it’s perks though–you can eat their extremely spicy (yet also extremely flavorful) all day long and your body will thank you for it!  Everything was red and delicious, I loved it.

img_20151217_124612.jpg

December also meant camping. It’s so interesting to see what the definition of ‘camping’ means to people from different islands. I imagine that most Oahu people (like me) imagine tents, s’mores, camping at a beach park with running water and a bathroom… B and friends, on the other hand, who are not from Oahu and are from the Big Island, go REAL camping. With a tent, yes, but on the slopes of Mauna Kea where there is no one around for MILES (and no bathroom, no water, and oh gosh it was COLD). Actually, it’s still in a designated camping area–there are cabins you can rent–but the chances you see another person all day is pretty slim unless you’re leaving or ahhh, you guys catch my drift.

I was so excited to go!!! I camped out in this field by myself for a while and I was able to take this shot of the milky way.  I messed up one of the settings so it’s a bit ‘blurry’–isn’t it crazy that blurriness is from the rotation of the Earth?  If I left it longer, I could have gotten some startrails.  What I was really after was this creamy purple color, I absolutely love it.  For some reason, the term that comes to mind is ‘dreamy,’ is that weird?

screenshot_2016-02-02-08-19-14.png

And lastly–now we’re blurring into January here–I cashed in my Xmas present from B who is the best husband I could have ever asked for. CALLIGRAPHY CLASSES YAY! Kelsey Nishi Darling, of Hawaii Calligraphy, is my penmanship idol and she offers beginner calligraphy classes in Downtown Honolulu. The admission fee includes your beginner tool kit (pen, nib, paper, ink, etc) as well as light pupus (snacks) and drinks. It’s 3 hours of non-stop writing and gosh, it was a pleasure to watch her write in person. I’ve dabbled in practicing with some markers but once I warm up to this pointed-pen thing, I’ll share my beginning doodles~

img_20160130_110221.jpg

———-

Aaaaaaaaaaaaand that’s my 2016 so far.  It’s been hectic but it’s been pretty great so far!  This weekend is going to be busy too–Super Bowl of course.  I’m not sure if I have a preference on who I want to win.  I rather like Cam but I kind of want Peyton to get one more before he retires.  We’re throwing a mini Bowl party at the house so catch you guys later, I have to clean!  Happy Aloha Friday and have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

