The Happenings: April 2016

How have you guys been?  I am writing this at…5AM local time (Japan)–whenever I get here, I tend to wake up in the 4AM timeframe, no matter how late I go to sleep.  I am going to pretend that we’re at a nice cafe drinking coffee while I’m filling y’all in on the happenings–OH GOSH I just want some caffeine.

BUT ANYWAY I was also here last month–Okinawa though!  It takes about two hours to get there from mainland Japan (from Fukuoka, or three from Tokyo).  Coolest thing we saw while we were there was this HUGE aquarium (Okinawa Churami Aquarium) where there are WHALE SHARKS!  Osaka also has a whale shark but there were about 4 of them in this gigantic tank.  Do you see the little fishball making a slightly heart shape?  Awwww.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 4.58.33 AM

Okinawa is interesting–I was there for work but the atmosphere is a lot different then mainland Japan.  It almost reminded me of home!  In Hawaii, we eat something called ‘butterfish’ which is cod marinated in a miso sauce (not to be mistaken for the type of fish, in Hawaii the term is used as a method of prep).  Okinawa has something also called butter fish–or  butteryaki/butter-fried fish–except it’s…

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 4.59.05 AM

Yes.  Literally a fish fried in butter then topped with small pats of butter. It was delicious and so worth it but oh dear lord, I really felt like I needed to run after this one.  Thankfully, the meat wasn’t too oily as long as you didn’t really eat the skin too much.  One of the ladies from the local Okinawan office came with us and she cleaned the whole thing!  I was impressed.  The only thing left was the spine and a few bony/spiny parts around the head and tail.

And lastly–bleeding into May, there was a Pet Expo!  Zuko, who is Mr. Aloha, is absolutely delighted to go to these sort of events.  He just turns in circles and wags his tail–so many people, so many dogs!  Being a city puppy, he was absolutely amazed by this cow:

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 4.58.50 AM

When I wasn’t looking, he popped up and kissed the cow, right on its nose.

And that’s about it!   Its about 530 now–breakfast is included in my rate and the hotel doesn’t start serving it until 7AM.  AHHHH I wonder if there’s a coffee shop open somewhere.  Happy May, everyone!

Leave a Reply

