Rachel Zoe, Box of Style: Fall 2016

FALL!  After the Spring and Summer Box of Style offerings, unfortunately, I do have to admit that my interest in the Hero Item (throughout this subscription) has been…dwindling.  I loved a few (Miansai Cuff, Cluse Watch, Cambridge Clutch) and sold a bunch on eBay or Poshmark (Luv AJ necklace and Leather Bucket Bag).  Overall, I still love this sub because it’s FUN, still practical, and isn’t TOO much of a credit-card-killer.

wp-1474646613800.jpg

This is what I got in this quarter’s box:

  • HERO ITEM: The Colorblock.  Donni Charm, Wonder Cape ($197)
  • The Cinch.  B-Low, The Belt, Gatsby Wrap Belt ($105)
  • The Statement Maker. IT Cosmetics Brow Power, Universal Eyebrow Pencil ($24)
  • The Perfect Pout. IT Cosmetics Vitality Lip Blush, Hydrating Gloss Stain ($24)
  • The Eye-Catcher.  Rachel Zoe, Tassel Bracelet ($95)
  • The Styling Tool.  Hollywood Fashion Secrets, Lint Removing Sheets ($6)

wp-1474646613813.jpg

Let’s start with the Hero Item.  I’m not really sure how to feel about this–I like the idea but the black/white contrast is REALLY strong.  I realize this is the push-the-envelope fashion item but I’m not really sure that’ll work for me.  (There is a 75% chance that this will end up on eBay or Poshmark).  I do appreciate the versatility of it all–the RZ style card shows 4 different ways to wear this but I’m afraid that I’ll drown in all of that sleeve fabric.  I might have been more in love with this if it were a nice, solid color (or a really pretty, soft heathered tone) but that’s boring and typical and oh, RZ.  I know why you sent this to us (but I’m not sure if I’m that adventurous, especially here in Hawaii).

wp-1474646614524.jpg

What I do like, very very very much, is the cinch belt.  I know what y’all saying about tassels but I still love them!  I LOVE that this belt is BLACK because it’ll go with everything and I can cinch my clothing at either my waist or my hips.  I belieeeeeeeeve that this item is leather.

I’ve never tried IT Cosmetics before–I’m interested in the brow pencil and intrigued by the lip product because it’s a glossy stain.  I hope it’s not sticky–I’m assuming that it’s not because the styling card does say that it can be blended onto the cheeks.

wp-1474646614497.jpg

How do you guys feel about the TASSEL bracelet?  (I kind of like it, it’s like RZ is showing how tassels can go from summer to fall.)  This bracelet is rather heavy but I like it because the design is strong enough to be worn on it’s own.  Are these perhaps the first RZ products to make its way into RZ’s own subscription box?  I am forgetful, perhaps there were some earrings in Spring or so.  Oh well.

wp-1474646614841.jpg

And those lint sheets—they will definitely be used!  I wear a lot of black pants and I feel like those are the days that Zuko tends to crawl into my lap as I’m putting on my makeup or getting dressed.  It’s like he knows.  ;_;  Interestingly, the last Popsugar box that I received also had a lint roller in it.

Okay that’s everything!  What did you guys think?  Overall, I’m not too ecstatic about the box items for this season.  I feel positive about at least two of the items, neutral about most of them, and negative about the Hero Item (which I was hoping that I’d love but I don’t).  Definitely looking forward to Winter’s Box!  I feel like Winter is the strongest Box of Style selection because Christmas/Holiday boxes are always special!

Leave a Reply

