PopSugar Limited Edition Holiday Box 2016

PopSugar and I are officially back together.  *SHOCK* I feel very guilty (I took a really hard stance after their CFDA fiasco a couple years ago) but at the same time, I’ve been really happy with PS lately!  I haven’t been posting reviews for their regular, monthly box but it’s been a GREAT deal–I got one of their Black Friday deals that brings the cost of the box down to about $20 a box and I’ve been pretty pleased with whatever they’ve sent me.

img_0066

I got the holiday box last year and I thought it was put-together well but it didn’t really have a wow factor.  (I don’t think people really cared for the candlestick holders but I really liked them!)  This year, I decided to splurge (the $100) on this Holiday box due to the spoiler–this really beautiful throw by Pehr (see below).

In a random order, here’s what I thought about the [pretty wonderful] items in this year’s limited edition holiday box:

BEAUTY ITEMS:

Cargo Cosmetics, Around the World Palette
I wonder if PS has a deal with Cargo–they sent out one of their blushes in a previous box.  I was pretty excited to see that we get a full-size palette with matte AND shimmer shades!  Selfishly, I’m secretly glad that there are no ‘adventurous’ shades like a cobalt blue or a bright magenta because although they seem really fun, I’d probably never use them (I feel so boring).  The full retail price for this product is $34.

 

R+Co Tinsel Smoothing Oil
This is so appropriate!  I like to smooth a little hair oil on my ends to tame them because they tend to get a little frizzy and this R+Co one is perfect for that!  R+Co is one of my favorite brands and this is a full-size item worth $XX.

 

FASHION ITEM:

img_0070

Cambridge Satchel
Rachel Zoe sent out a Cambridge Satchel in the first year of her Box of Style so I’m familiar with the brand.  The quality of these satchels are amazing!  Real leather and made in the U.K….*swoon*  I love the black and white colors of this bag and I definitely feel like I can use it often.  The only thing is that it is TINY.  The R+Co Oil is a typical spritzer size bottle and you can see it here, compared to this mini bag.  I know RZ is sending a leather business card case and I’m thinking that it will fit PERFECTLY into this tiny tiny bag, along with my phone, keys, hand sanitizer, and a lip balm!  Perfect for hands-free shopping/traveling/out-and-about-everything.

HOME ITEMS:

Pehr Throw
In Hawaii, I feel like we don’t use throws really often but when we do need to use one, it’s nice to have a soft, fluffy one (like this!) on hand.  I opened it, wrapped myself up in it, and felt instantly like I had to drink hot chocolate or something–this was about 4PM in the afternoon and it was still about 80 degrees outside, haha.  I think I might have to battle Zuko for this–I caught him taking a nap on it this morning.

Simpatico Snow Scented Oil Diffuser
This is so cute!  The glass bottle is textured and it comes with a little tag that you slip around the neck with the name of the fragrance.  They give you enough oil so that it fills it all the way up while still keeping about an inch from the top for ventilation.  I like that it’s got a nice pleasant, vanilla holiday scent without being too overpowering.

Louis Sherry New York Chocolate Truffles
I’ve always wanted to get real, fancy truffles in one of these super quality tins.  This would have been the perfect item to regift but I really wanted the container to keep my calligraphy nibs!  There are 6 truffles in here and there’s a really cute little illustrated card that lists which one is which.  I had the coffee one last night and the chocolate is so smooth…. I have no regrets on being selfish with this one, haha.
THE TRUTH:…..I was selfish and I kept everything for myself.  I kind of wish that I bought two, one with the sole purpose of regifting!  I would have given the oil diffuser + palette to my sister, the throw to B’s grandmother, the smoothing oil to my girlfriend, and the satchel + truffles to my mom.  5 gifts for $100!  Not bad!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

